Excessive Research (Day 2)

With Christian Ulrik Andersen, Geoff Cox, Lone Koefoed Hansen, Joasia Krysa and Cornelia Sollfrank

Fri, Feb 5, 2016
Hirschfeld Bar
12 noon–1.30 pm
Free admission

Excessive Research presents a stream of interventions based on a workshop that took place in November 2015, the outcomes of which are included in a peer-reviewed newspaper and online academic journal (, both to be launched during transmediale.

Through conversations the presenters will respond to the compulsive actions of digital culture with an emphasis on the concept of excess, asking where the limits of exchange reside. In two sessions they will delve into the actions of sharing, making, securing, and acting. What happens when not only those activities, but also research about them, becomes less about exchange and more about generating excess? The topic of excessive research reflects on the thematic streams of transmediale/conversationpiece and is a result of the ongoing collaboration between transmediale, Aarhus University, and shifting partner organizations. This year’s workshop took place in Liverpool in partnership with Liverpool John Moores University and the Liverpool Biennial.

Excessive Research, organized by Aarhus University in collaboration with transmediale, Liverpool John Moores University and Liverpool Biennial, includes the participation of the following researchers: Christian Ulrik Andersen (Aarhus University), Mitra Azar (independent), Elisavet Christou (Lancaster University), Geoff Cox (Aarhus University), Aideen Doran (Northumbria University), Kristoffer Gansing (transmediale), Pablo Velasco Gonzalez (University of Warwick), Lone Koefoed Hansen (Aarhus University), Nathan Jones (Royal Holloway, University of London), Joasia Krysa (Liverpool John Moores University and Liverpool Biennial), Graziele Lautenschlaeger (Humboldt University), Lyndsay Mann (Edinburgh University), Cornelia Sollfrank (independent), Wolfgang Sützl (Ohio University), Marie Louise Juul Søndergaard (Aarhus University), Sally Tallant (Liverpool Biennial), Cansu Topaloglu (Sussex University), Scott Wark (University of Warwick), Tessa Zettel (independent).