Reto Pulfer, Dehydrierte Landschaft des Zustands, 2015, Courtesy of the artist, Photo: Sebastian Bolesch

Sep 30–Oct 4, 2015

100 Years of Now. The Opening

Installation, lecture, performance, talk, reading, theater, concert, film

Sep 30–Oct 4, 2015

World Politics – Dream States – Data Streams: 100 Years of Now combines diagnoses of our times with scopes of action. In its latest long-term project, HKW examines the interrelations between global conflicts, classification systems and technologies. The kick-off between September 30 and October 4, 2015 will gather artists, scientists, activists and observers of the times in unusual constellations.

Short-termism reigns. Today’s decisions lack a future horizon. A constant flood of snapshots feeds the fear of missing out. A never ending flood of new technologies promises to solve all our problems – until the next revelation of the impossibility of tackling deep-seated conflicts through technological management. 100 Years of Now combines diagnoses of our times with scopes of action, explores the potentials of the past, and unlocks alternative futures. Until 2018, HKW will be probing the countermovement to the dictatorship of the moment. 100 Years of Now. The Opening spotlights the emergence and side-effects of normative notions of time, the planetary entanglement of technological, human, and natural forces, global political conflicts and supposed side scenes of history.

Sandeep Bhagwati, Lino Camprubí, Jimena Canales, Zachary Caple, Gregory T. Cushman, Rana Dasgupta, Heather Davis, Evelina Domnitch & Dmitry Gelfand, Doom Spa (Roseline Rannoch and Felix Profos), Eisklares Echo (Mia von Matt and Reto Pulfer), Pepe Escobar, Michel Feher, F.S.K., Jennifer Gabrys, Stephan Geene, Avery F. Gordon, Marina Gržinic, Peter K. Haff, Natascha Sadr Haghighian, Orit Halpern, Mark B. N. Hansen, Erich Hörl, Guo Jinniu, Helge Jordheim, Burghart Klaußner, Scott Knowles, Rüdiger Kruse MdB, S. Løchlann Jain, Jörn Leonhard, Donald MacKenzie, Ulrich Matthes, Clapperton C. Mavhunga, Martin Mosebach, Helga Nowotny, Matteo Pasquinelli, Reto Pulfer, Judith Raum, Jürgen Renn, Hans-Jörg Rheinberger, Laurence A. Rickels, Arno Rosemarin, Gwendolyn Sasse, Henning Schmidgen, Birgit Schneider, Katrina Schwartz, Slavs and Tatars, Lucy A. Suchman, Jihan El-Tahri, Thirsty Moon (Ying Le and Paul Sochacki), Wolfgang Tillmans, Trümmer, Margarita Tsomou, Frank Uekötter, Ines and Eyal Weizman, Yang Lian, Yongle Zhang, YoYo, zeitkratzer, Mushon Zer-Aviv amongst others