deutsche Version
Home/Programme/Todays programme/Details
Asia
Iran
reading
Far Near Distance
Karawanserei
Marjan Shirmohammadi, Tehran
Admission: 4 , concessions 2,50
02.05.2004
17:00
marginalisation, poverty, urbanity
Entfernte Nähe
Marjan Shirmohammadi sees life in a poor city district through the eyes of 15-year-old Abbas. An old caravanserai is transformed into a film set. The boy secretly observes the film being made. The film world, which Abbas finds as alien as he does glamorous, soon becomes a welcome escape from his bleak, violent home.
Thirty-year-old Marjan Shimohammadi narrates her stories in a clear and plain language. They capture the feeling for life among the Iranian middle class, and often depict people facing critical changes in their lives. Her simple, sensitive stories portray an atmosphere imbued with loneliness, as well as fear of the unknown and the new.
Shimohammadi, who has also enjoyed success as an actress and theatre-maker in Iran, was awarded the Golschiri Foundation prize for the best debut author in the short-story category in 2002.

BIOGRAPHY:
Marjan Shirmohammadi was born in 1973. She began her artistic career as a painter. In Iran, however, she is best known for her appearances in countless cinema films and television series. Since 1996, she has also worked as a theatre director. After directing several plays, she published a volume of short stories "ba’d az âshab" (After that Night) in 2002. The same year she was awarded the prize for the best first work in the “Short Story” category by the renowned Golschiri Foundation. Shirmohammadi lives in Tehran.

BIBLIOGRAPHY:
ba’d az âshab (After that Night), stories, 2002

english version
Home/Programm/Tagesprogramm/Details
Asien
Iran
Lesung
Entfernte Nähe
Karawanserei
Marjan Shirmohammadi, Teheran
Eintritt: 4 , ermäßigt 2,50
02.05.2004
17:00
Armut, Marginalisierung, Urbanität
Entfernte Nähe
Durch die Augen des fünfzehnjährigen Abbas betrachtet Marjan Shirmohammadi das Leben in einem armen Stadtviertel. Eine alte Karawanserei wird zur Bühne für Filmaufnahmen, die der Jugendliche zunächst heimlich beobachtet. Die ebenso fremde wie schillernde Filmwelt wird für Abbas zum willkommenen Fluchtpunkt. Dort kann er sich seinem tristen und gewalttätigen Zuhause entziehen.
Die durch eine klare und einfache Sprache charakterisierten Erzählungen der 30-jährigen Marjan Shirmohammadi spiegeln das Lebensgefühl der iranischen Mittelschicht wider und erzählen häufig von Menschen vor entscheidenden Veränderungen in ihrem Leben. Die schlichten wie einfühlsamen Erzählungen entwickeln eine Atmosphäre voller Einsamkeit und Furcht vor dem Unbekannten und Neuen.
Shirmohammadi, die auch als Schauspielerin und Theatermacherin Erfolge in Iran feiert, wurde 2002 von der Golschiri-Stiftung als beste Debüt-Autorin in der Kategorie Kurzprosa ausgezeichnet.

BIOGRAFIE:
Marjan Shirmohammadi wurde 1973 geboren. Sie begann ihre künstlerische Laufbahn als Malerin, ist in Iran aber hauptsächlich als Schauspielerin aus zahlreichen Kinofilmen und Fernsehserien bekannt. Seit 1996 ist sie zudem als Theaterregisseurin tätig. Nach mehreren Theaterstücken hat sie 2002 einen Band mit Kurz-geschichten, „ba’d az âshab“ (Nach jener Nacht) veröffentlicht, der noch im gleichen Jahr von der renommierten Golschiri Stiftung als bestes Debütwerk in der Kategorie „Kurzprosa“ ausgezeichnet wurde. Sirmohammadi lebt mit ihrem Mann und Sohn in Teheran.

BIBLIOGRAFIE:
ba’d az âshab (Nach jener Nacht), Erzählungen, 2002