deutsche Version
Home/Programme/Todays programme/Details
Asia
Iran
exhibition
Far Near Distance
FAR NEAR DISTANCE
New positions of Iranian artists
Admission: 3 , concessions 1,50
20.03.2004 - 09.05.2004 TUE + WED 10-18 h
THU - SUN 12-20 h
10:00
Entfernte Nähe
"Domestic Life" (Detail)
Armchair and round table with stereos
"Iran. 2001. GOD"
FAR AND NEAR DISTANCE is showing a collection, seen for the first time in Germany, of contemporary works by Iranian artists.
The revolution, young victims of the Iran-Iraq war and Kurdish resistance fighters are themes taken up by Kaveh Golestan. Khosrow Hassan Zadeh takes a close look at the consequences of religious doctrine: his “Faheshe” series shows the faces of murdered prostitutes – all victims of a fanatic.
The works of some of the exiled artists are very autobiographical. Marjane Satrapi, a cartoonist living in Paris, relates her own history to that of her home country. Parastou Forouhar uses design objects as projection screens to convey his personal experiences of political repression, whilst Shahram Entekhabi explores the motifs underlying his emigration in his monumental installation “Kilid”.
The distance from “home” is also reflected in the way artists are turning to aesthetic and conceptual questions. Whereas Ali Mahdavi thematises the contradiction between magnificent décor and physical imperfection with his expensively dressed animal carcasses, internationally acclaimed architect Siah Armajani explores the relationship between form and space and the absence of humanity.
The young generation of artists, in contrast, relies on humour and ironic exaggeration. In tragicomic video sequences, Ghazel parodies their attempts to combine laws governing dress with modern lifestyles. In his spatial installation “Living Room Ultra Mega X”, Farhad Moshiri finds an overextravagant metaphor for the ambitions of the emergent Tehran middle class. Against this rich world of imagery, the video work of Shirn Neshat – probably the most famous artist at the exhibition – strikes one as a total minimalist. In peaceful scenes, she allows a radically reduced form language to unfold, thereby raising universal questions about the relationship between the sexes and the possibilities of being.

The exhibition artists are: Abbas, Siah Armajani, Maziar Bahari, Shahram Entekhabi, Parastou Forouhar, ShaTues. Ghadirian, Ghazel, Kaveh Golestan, Khosrow Hassan Zadeh, Peyman Hooshmandzadeh, Abbas Kiarostami, Ali Mahdavi, Mehran Mohajer, Farhad Moshiri, Shirin Neshat, Marjane Satrapi, SHAHRZAD Collective, Farkhondeh Shahroudi, Mitra Tabrizian

english version
Home/Programm/Tagesprogramm/Details
Asien
Iran
Ausstellung
Entfernte Nähe
ENTFERNTE NÄHE
Neue Positionen iranischer Künstler
Eintritt: 3 , ermäßigt 1,50
20.03.2004 - 09.05.2004 Di + Mi 10-18 Uhr
Do - So 12-20 Uhr
10:00
Entfernte Nähe
Shadi Ghadirian: "Domestic Life"
"Domestic Life" (Ausschnitt)
Farhad Moshiri: "Armchair and round table with stereos"
Armchair and round table with stereos
Abbas: "GOD"
"Iran. 2001. GOD"
ENTFERNTE NÄHE zeigt eine für Deutschland einmalige Zusammenstellung aktueller Werke iranischer Künstler.
Die Revolution, jugendliche Kriegsopfer aus dem Iran-Irak-Krieg oder kurdische Widerstandskämpfer sind die Themen von Kaveh Golestan. Khosrow Hassan Zadeh zielt auf die Folgen religiöser Doktrin: In seiner Serie "Faheshe" sind die Gesichter ermordeter Prostituierter zu sehen, die einem Fanatiker zum Opfer fielen.
Einige Exilkünstler arbeiten stark autobiografisch: Die in Paris ansässige Comiczeichnerin Marjane Satrapi verknüpft ihre eigene Geschichte mit der ihrer Heimat. Designobjekte dienen der in Deutschland lebenden Parastou Forouhar als Projektionsflächen für persönliche Erfahrungen politischer Unterdrückung, während Shahram Entekhabi in seiner monumentalen Installation "Kilid" den Motiven seiner Emigration nachgeht.
Die Entfernung von der "Heimat" zeigt sich in einer Hinwendung zu ästhetischen und konzeptuellen Fragen: Während Ali Mahdavi mit seinen kostbar gekleideten Tierkadavern den Widerspruch von prunkvollem Dekorum und körperlicher Unvollkommenheit thematisiert, geht es bei dem weltweit renommierten Architekten Siah Armajani um das Verhältnis von Form und Raum und die Abwesenheit des Menschen.
Die junge Künstlergeneration setzt demgegenüber auf Humor und ironische Überzeichnung: In tragikomischen Videosequenzen parodiert Ghazel ihre Bemühungen, Kleiderordnung und modernen Lebensstil miteinander zu vereinbaren. Farhad Moshiri findet mit seiner Rauminstallation "Living Room Ultra Mega" eine überbordende Metapher für die Ambitionen der aufstrebenden Teheraner Mittelschicht. Angesichts dieser reichhaltigen Bildwelten wirkt die Videoarbeit der wohl bekanntesten Künstlerin dieser Ausstellung, Shirin Neshat, geradezu minimalistisch: In ruhigen Sequenzen entfaltet sich eine aufs äußerste reduzierte Formensprache, die allgemeingültige Fragen zum Verhältnis zwischen den Geschlechtern und den Möglichkeiten des Seins aufwirft.

Die Künstler der Ausstellung: Abbas, Siah Armajani, Maziar Bahari, Shahram Entekhabi, Parastou Forouhar, Shadi Ghadirian, Ghazel, Kaveh Golestan, Khosrow Hassan Zadeh, Peyman Hooshmandzadeh, Abbas Kiarostami, Ali Mahdavi, Mehran Mohajer, Farhad Moshiri, Shirin Neshat, Marjane Satrapi, SHAHRZAD Collective, Farkhondeh Shahroudi, Mitra Tabrizian