deutsche Version
Home/Programme/Todays programme/Details
Asia
Iran
reading
Far Near Distance
Das Jahr des Aufruhrs
+ Parissa
Abbas Maroufi, Berlin
+ Fereshteh Sari, Tehran
Admission: 4 , concessions 2,50
27.04.2004
19:30
WWW
Entfernte Nähe
Double Feature

1941: Soviet troops march into northern Iran. A provincial village sinks into chaos as troops start looting and power struggles begin. A gallows waits to hang people; a woman dies over a period of seven nights; she remembers, wanders through time and falls into a delirium of dying. In his novel "Das Jahr des Aufruhrs", which will be published by Suhrkamp Verlag in Germany this autumn, Abbas Maroufi has written a parable about power and despotism. He uses different levels of narration: that of the public-political events in the village and that of the private, individual fate of a woman. Maroufi, who was born in Tehran in 1957 and has been living in exile in Berlin since 1996, gained international recognition with his novel "Symphonie der Toten" at the latest. He is regarded as one of the leading representatives of Iranian literature.
In her novel "Parissa", author Fereshteh Sari depicts the modern, everyday urban life of a female novelist in Iran. Like Abbas Maroufi's works, her as-yet-unpublished book includes dream sequences and frequently almost surrealistic, fairy-tale-like elements that alternate between fiction and reality.
Her novel not only takes up the concrete everyday problems of a family, but also her inner-debate with her own life history. Taking the example of a married couple, she sketches out different positions on the present: the man flees into historical studies, whilst the woman confronts her everyday reality. Until 2001, Fereshteh Sari was a member of the board of the Iranian authors' association.

BIOGRAPHIES:
Abbas Maroufi was born in Tehran in 1957. He began writing while he was doing his military service. After studying dramatic literature, he was in charge of the music department at Teheran city hall. In 1990, he founded a cultural magazine entitled Gardun (the vault of heaven), which quickly became the most important forum for Iranian intellectuals. He faced repeated charges for his political convictions, and was finally even sentenced to death. His execution was, however, quashed thanks to the intervention of the then minister of culture and later president, Mohammed Chatami. Gardun’s licence was withdrawn in 1996 for having “offended Islam“, Maroufi was forbidden from publishing, sentenced to several months in prison and given twenty lashes of the whip. Thanks to international intervention, Maroufi did not have to serve the prison sentence. Shortly afterwards he moved to Germany. For several years now he has been living and working in Berlin. He runs a bookshop which has become a well-known centre for Iranian culture and literature. Maroufi’s intelligent articles on the political and social situation in Iran, which have appeared in the ZEIT and FAZ newspapers, the Spiegel magazine and other publications, have made him one of the best-known critical intellectuals among Iranian exiles. Recently, his books have been published again in Iran.

Fereshteh Sari was born in Tehran in 1956, where she still lives and works. She studied computer science, as well as Russian language and literature. She is currently working as an editor and translator. Sari began writing literary texts and poems in the early 1980s. Her first volume of lyric poetry, entitled Pejvak-e Sokut (Echo of Silence), appeared in 1987. Since then, she has published four more volumes of poetry, five novels, academic studies, countless stories and a popular book of children’s stories. In 1988, she was awarded a Hellmann/Hammett Grant by Human Rights Watch for her commitment to freedom of speech. Before Chatami was elected President, one of her novels was banned and several others were not allowed to be published. In 1999, as official representative of the independent Iranian writers’ association, she received the renowned Erich-Maria-Remarque Prize of the city of Osnabrück.

BIBLIOGRAPHIES:
Abbas Maroufi (Choice):
The Year of the Uprising, novel, 2003
The Dark Side, novel, 1998
Symphony of the Dead, novel, 1996

Fereshteh Sari (Choice):
Tchehre-negâri-e donyâ (Portrait of the World), stories, 2002
Rus-hâ va nâme-hâ (Day and Letters), poems, 2002
Atr-e râsiâneh (The Smell of Fennel), novel, 1999
Mitrâ, Novel, 1998
Djomhuri-ye semestân (Winter’s Republic), poems 1993



Link Abbas Maroufi's home page

english version
Home/Programm/Tagesprogramm/Details
Asien
Iran
Lesung
Entfernte Nähe
Das Jahr des Aufruhrs
+ Parissa
Abbas Maroufi, Berlin
+ Fereshteh Sari, Teheran
Eintritt: 4 , ermäßigt 2,50
27.04.2004
19:30
WWW
Entfernte Nähe
Double Feature

1941: Die Sowjetrussen marschieren in Nord-Iran ein. Eine Provinzstadt versinkt im Chaos marodierender Truppen und Machtkämpfe. Ein Galgen wartet darauf, jemanden zu hängen und eine Frau stirbt sieben Nächte lang, erinnert sich, wandelt zwischen den Zeiten und versinkt im Delirium des Sterbens. Abbas Maroufi hat mit dem im kommenden Herbst im Suhrkamp Verlag auf Deutsch erscheinenden Roman "Das Jahr des Aufruhrs" eine Parabel über Macht und Willkür geschrieben, indem er verschiedene Erzählebenen einsetzt: die öffentlich-politischen Geschehnisse in einem Dorf und das private, individuelle Schicksal einer Frau. Der 1957 in Teheran geborene und seit 1996 im Berliner Exil lebende Maroufi genießt spätestens seit seinem Roman "Symphonie der Toten" internationales Ansehen und zählt zu den führenden Vertretern der iranischen Literatur.
Die in Teheran lebende Autorin Fereshteh Sari erzählt in ihrem Roman "Parissa" vom modernen, städtischen Alltagsleben einer Schriftstellerin in Iran. Ihr noch unveröffentlichtes Buch enthält ebenso wie Abbas Maroufis Texte Traumsequenzen, zuweilen fast schon surreal-märchenhafte Elemente, die zwischen Fiktion und Realität changieren.
Neben konkreten Alltagsproblemen einer Familie greift dieser Roman auch die Auseinandersetzung mit der eigenen Geschichte auf. Am Beispiel eines Ehepaares werden unterschiedliche Positionen zur Gegenwart skizziert. Während der Mann sich in historische Studien flüchtet, setzt sich die Frau mit der Alltagsrealität auseinander, indem sie ihr kreative Imaginationen entgegensetzt. Fereshteh Sari war bis 2001 Vorstandsmitglied des iranischen Schriftstellerverbandes.

BIOGRAFIEN:
Abbas Maroufi, der 1957 in Teheran geboren wurde, begann bereits während seines Militärdienstes zu schreiben. Nach einem Studium dramatischer Literatur betreute er die Musikabteilung der Teheraner Stadthalle. 1990 gründet er die oppositionelle Kulturzeitschrift "Gardun" (Himmelsgewölbe), die schnell zum wichtigsten Sprachrohr oppositioneller iranischer Intellektueller wurde. Auf Grunde seines politischen Engagements wurde er in den folgenden Jahren mehrfach angeklagt und schließlich sogar zum Tode verurteilt. Eine Vollstreckung konnte er erst in letzter Minute durch die Intervention des damaligen Kulturministers und späteren Staatspräsidenten Mohammed Chatami verhindert werden. Wegen „Beleidigung des Islams“ wurde "Gardun" 1996 die Lizenz entzogen, Maroufi mit einem Publikationsverbot belegt und neben einer mehrmonatigen Haftstrafe zu 20 Peitschenhieben verurteilt. Obwohl Maroufi diese Strafe wegen internationaler Proteste nicht antreten musste, emigrierte er kurz darauf nach Deutschland. Seit mehreren Jahren lebt und arbeitet er in Berlin, wo er auch einen Buchladen führt. Seine intelligenten Aufsätze zur politischen und gesellschaftlichen Situation in Iran, die u. a. in der ZEIT, dem Spiegel und der FAZ erschienen sind, haben ihn zu einer der bedeutendsten intellektuellen Stimme unter den iranischen Exilanten in Deutschland werden lassen. Seit kurzem werden einige seiner Bücher neu in Iran aufgelegt. Auf Deutsch erschienen "Symphonie der Toten" und "Die dunkle Seite". Im Herbst 2004 erscheint "Das Jahr des Aufruhrs".

Fereshteh Sari wurde 1956 in Teheran geboren, wo sie auch heute noch lebt und arbeitet. Sie studierte Informatik, russische Sprache und Literatur und arbeitet gegenwärtig als Redakteurin und Übersetzerin. Sari begann in den frühen 80er Jahren literarische Texte und Gedichte zu schreiben. Ihr erster Lyrikband „Pejvak-e Sokut“ (Echo der Stille) erschien 1987. Seitdem hat sie vier weitere Bände mit Gedichten, fünf Romane, wissenschaftliche Studien, zahlreiche Erzählungen und ein populäres iranisches Kinderbuch veröffentlicht. Wegen des in ihren Texten immer wieder angemahnten Rechts auf freie Meinungsäußerung und Menschenwürde, wurde sie mehrfach von offizieller iranischer Seite verhört. Vor der Wahl Chatamis zum Präsidenten war einer ihrer Romane verboten, verschiedene andere konnten nicht veröffentlicht werden. 1999 nahm sie als offizielle Vertreterin des unabhängigen iranischen Schriftstellerverbandes den renommierten Erich-Maria-Remarque Preis der Stadt Osnabrück entgegen.

BIBLIOGRAFIEN:
Abbas Maroufi (Auszug):
Das Jahr des Aufruhrs, Roman, 2004
Die dunkle Seite, Roman, 1998
Symphonie der Toten, Roman, 1996

Fereshteh Sari (Auszug):
Tchehre-negâri-e donyâ (Porträt der Welt), Erzählungen, 2002
Rus-hâ va nâme-hâ (Tag und Briefe), Gedichte, 2002
Atr-e râsiâneh (Der Duft des Fenchels), Roman, 1999
Mitrâ, Roman, 1998
Djomhuri-ye semestân (Winterrepublik), Gedichte 1993




Link Homepage von Abbas Maroufi