deutsche Version
Home/Programme/Todays programme/Details
literature
Asia
India
panel discussion, reading
body.city
Giving a Voice to the Voiceless
Urvashi Butalia and Faustina Bama
Admission: 4 , concessions 2,50
19.10.2003
15:00
perception, taboo, writing
Text
body.city
Followed by a discussion
with Faustina Bama, Urvashi Butalia, Githa Hariharan and Paul Zacharia
Language: English and German


When the former nun Faustina Bama published her life story “Karukku”, the book caused a furore in the Indian literary scene. It voices a rebellion against the clerical and social ostracism of the author, who left the convent in 1992. At the same time it also confronts Bama’s existence as a Dalit, an Untouchable. The publication set off a lively discussion on Dalit literature – a literature about the Untouchables which, ever since the seventies, is increasingly being written by the Untouchables themselves.
India’s painful partition into Pakistan and India in 1947 is the subject of the author and women’s activist Urvashi Butalia in “The Other Side of Silence – Voices from the Partition of India“. Drawing on personal fates, the Indian author draws public attention to a chapter of Indian-Pakistani history that has been repressed to this day: more than 12 million people were resettled during the partition. One million people died. More than 75,000 women were kidnapped and raped. Villages, communities and family bonds were destroyed. Urvashi Butalia lives and works in Delhi.

As certain social groups come to dominate in India, minorities are increasingly marginalized and ignored by society. Many writers see it as their duty to lend a voice to these marginal groups and question the kind of cultural stereotypes that circulate about minorities in general. The discussion thematizes these aspects and focuses especially on issues of gender roles and caste society.

Text

english version
Home/Programm/Tagesprogramm/Details
Literatur
Asien
Indien
Lesung, Podiumsdiskussion
body.city
Den Entrechteten eine Stimme geben
Urvashi Butalia und Faustina Bama
Eintritt: 4 , ermäßigt 2,50
19.10.2003
15:00
Sprache, Tabu, Wahrnehmung
Text
body.city
anschließend Diskussion
mit Faustina Bama, Urvashi Butalia, Githa Hariharan und Paul Zacharia
Sprache: Englisch und Deutsch


Als die ehemalige Nonne Faustina Bama ihre Lebensgeschichte „Karukku“ veröffentlichte, sorgte das Buch in der indischen Literaturszene für Furore. Es ist Ausdruck eines Aufbegehrens gegen die klerikale wie gesellschaftliche Ächtung der Autorin, die 1992 aus dem Kloster ausgetreten war. Gleichzeitig setzt es sich auch mit Bamas Dasein als Dalit, als Unberührbare, auseinander. Die Veröffentlichung führte zu einer lebhaften Diskussion über Dalit-Literatur – eine Literatur über die Unberührbaren, die seit den Siebzigerjahren zunehmend auch von diesen selbst verfasst wird.
Mit der schmerzhaften Teilung Indiens 1947 in Pakistan und Indien beschäftigt sich die Autorin und Frauenaktivistin Urvashi Butalia in „The other side of silence – voices from the partition of India“. Anhand persönlicher Lebensläufe rückt die indische Autorin ein bis heute verdrängtes Kapitel der indisch-pakistanischen Geschichte ins öffentliche Bewusstsein: Über 12 Millionen Menschen wurden bei der Teilung umgesiedelt. Eine Million Menschen starben. Mehr als 75.000 Frauen wurden entführt und vergewaltigt. Dörfer, Kommunen, Familienbande wurden zerstört. Urvashi Butalia lebt und arbeitet in Delhi.

Mit der zunehmenden Dominanz bestimmter gesellschaftlicher Gruppen in Indien werden Minderheiten immer mehr an den Rand gedrängt und gesellschaftlich ignoriert. Viele Literaten sehen es daher als ihre Aufgabe an, diesen Randgruppen eine Stimme zu verleihen und kulturelle Stereotype, wie sie über Minderheiten allgemein im Umlauf sind, zu hinterfragen. Die Diskussion thematisiert diese Aspekte und geht dabei besonders auf Fragen der Geschlechterrollen und der Kastengesellschaft ein.

Text
Voices of Resistance