deutsche Version
Home/Programme/Todays programme/Details
Asia
India
dance
body.city
Sakuntala
Gopal Venu
Admission 9 , reduced 7
together with “Ganapati”:
14 , reduced 10
26.09.2003 - 27.09.2003
20:00
modernity, tradition, transformation
body.city
Gopal Venu
Gopal Venu
Presented by: Natanakairali and Ammannur Chachu Chakyar Gurukulam


“Sakuntala and the Ring of Memory” is a more than 1600-year-old drama by the famous Indian court poet Kalidasa, to be performed here for the first time in the Kutiyattam Style. This millennia-old Sanskrit theatrical form is known for its great complexity of gestures and facial expressions, and has been honoured by UNESCO as a “masterpiece of humanity’s oral and immaterial heritage.” Counter to tradition, this radical Sakuntala adaptation has been created by a collective, developed jointly by a group of performers, musicians and makeup-artists centred around the director Gopal Venu.
Kalidasa’s play is about King Dushyanta’s love for Sakuntala, the adopted daughter of a wise hermit. A curse separates them and makes the king lose his memory. When Sakuntala comes to his kingdom to find him, he does not recognize her. The ring he gave her, the only thing that could stir his memory, is lost. Sakuntala leaves the court in disgrace. Ready to sink into the ground for shame, she is struck by lightning and transported into heaven.
In Gopal Venu’s version, Sakuntala is a wife who is abandoned by her husband. Thus the director not only innovates the form – with live percussion, narrative and dance – he also relates the story to the present.

english version
Home/Programm/Tagesprogramm/Details
Asien
Indien
Tanz
body.city
Sakuntala
Gopal Venu
Eintritt 9 , ermäßigt 7
zusammen mit „Ganapati”:
14 , ermäßigt 10
26.09.2003 - 27.09.2003
20:00
Moderne, Tradition, Transformation
body.city
Gopal Venu
Gopal Venu
Gopal Venu
Gopal Venu
Präsentiert von: Natanakairali und Ammannur Chachu Chakyar Gurukulam


„Sakuntala und der Ring der Erinnerung“ ist ein vor über 1600 Jahren entstandenes Drama des berühmten indischen Hofdichters Kalidasa, das hier erstmalig im Kutiyattam-Stil aufgeführt wird. Diese jahrtausendalte Sanskrit-Theaterform ist bekannt für hochkomplexe Gestik und Mimik, nicht ohne Grund von der UNESCO mit dem Prädikat „Meisterwerk des mündlichen und immateriellen Erbes der Menschheit“ ausgezeichnet. Die radikale Sakuntala-Adaption ist – im Unterschied zur Tradition – von einem Kollektiv geschaffen worden: Eine Gruppe von Performern, Musikern und Maskenbildnern um den Regisseur Gopal Venu hat sie gemeinsam entwickelt.
Kalidasas Stück handelt von der Liebe des Königs Dushyanta zu Sakuntala, der Adoptivtochter eines weisen Einsiedlers. Durch einen Fluch werden sie getrennt und der König mit dem Verlust des Gedächtnisses geschlagen. Als Sakuntala ihn in seinem Reich aufsucht, erkennt er sie nicht. Sein Ring, den er ihr geschenkt hat und der als Einziges seine Erinnerung wachrufen könnte, geht verloren. Sakuntala muss in Schande den Hof verlassen. Sie möchte in der Erde versinken, als ein Blitzstrahl sie trifft und in den Himmel entführt.
In Gopal Venus Bearbeitung ist Sakuntala eine Ehefrau, die von ihrem Mann verlassen wird. Der Regisseur erneuert damit nicht nur die Form – mit Live-Percussion, Erzählung und Tanz –, sondern setzt auch die Handlung in einen Bezug zur Gegenwart.