deutsche Version
Home/Programme/Todays programme/Details
Africa, America, Europe
reading
Black Atlantic, Black Atlantic - Platform 2:
Congo Square
Poetry Night
Jayne Cortéz
Admission: 5 , concessions 2,50
22.10.2004
22:00
WWW
Black Atlantic
Urban Poetry Performance

Jayne Cortéz is an outstanding experimental New York wordsmith, author and poet, whose work has been deeply involved with the birth of the Black Arts Movement and its presence on the arts scene. In her poetry night, she will be reading texts giving a political and surrealist expression to those specific realities of life where resistance communicates with its essential complement, the utopian dream world.
Cortéz's performances use sound and text to narrate the struggle - especially that of Black women - to carve out a place in the art world, in society, and in the world at large. Both her texts and her particular way of "presenting" them - a kind of tonal reading - constantly reference music, its historical, political and communicative significance and the concrete effect of its sounds.


Jayne Cortéz was born in Arizona and grew up in Los Angeles. She is currently living in New York City where she is considered one of the most outstanding experimental spoken-word artists. An author and a poet, she has published ten volumes of poetry and has also performed her poems in exchanges with musicians. Jayne Cortéz has performed in her unique style at a variety of venues such as the Museum of Modern Art, New York; UNESCO, Paris; the Berlin Jazz Festival; 11 Perfil da Literatura, Sao Paolo, Brazil; the Arts Alive International Festival, Johannesburg, South Africa; and the Banlieus Blues Festival, France. Her poetic texts are a political-surrealistic expression of resistance, lived realities and dream worlds; her poems always create a their very own world of sounds. Jayne Cortéz uses music and poetry as forms of communication and protest, revealing a close attachment to Afro-American cultural history. Her artistic work is closely linked with the Black Arts Movement.
Jayne Cortéz has developed her own aesthetics: her texts are an expression of the struggle - also and especially as a Black woman - to establish a place for herself in society, in the world and in the arts scene.
Apart from writing poems, which have been translated into many different languages and have appeared in various anthologies, newspapers and magazines, Jayne Cortéz has also worked as a film director. Her film Yari Yari: Black Women Writers and the Future is a memorable documentary of the Conference of Black Authors, which first took place in 1997.

Link Official web site of Jayne Cortéz
Link www.blackatlantic.com

english version
Home/Programm/Tagesprogramm/Details
Afrika, Amerika, Europa
Lesung
Black Atlantic, Black Atlantic - Plattform 2:
Congo Square
Poetry Night
Jayne Cortéz
Eintritt: 5 , ermäßigt 2,50
22.10.2004
22:00
WWW
Black Atlantic
Urban Poetry Performance

Die herausragende experimentelle New Yorker Wortkünstlerin, Autorin und Dichterin Jayne Cortéz, deren Werdegang verbunden ist mit der Entstehung und Präsenz des Black Arts Movement, wird in ihrer poetischen Nacht Texte sprechen, die politischer und surrealistischer Ausdruck spezifischer Lebensrealitäten sind, in denen Widerstand einerseits und notwendig utopische Traumwelten miteinander kommunizieren.
Cortéz' Text-Klang-Performances erzählen den Kampf, sich - auch und vor allem als Schwarze Frau - einen eigenen Platz in der Gesellschaft, in der Welt, in Kunstszenen zu erschaffen. Ihre Texte als auch Ihr spezifischer Stil, diese Texte "vorzutragen" - eine Art tonales Lesen - beziehen sich immer wieder auf Musik: ihre geschichtlich-politische und kommunikative Bedeutung sowie ihre konkret klangliche Wirkung.


Jayne Cortéz, geb. in Arizona, aufgewachsen in Los Angeles, lebt derzeit als eine der herausragendsten experimentellen Wort-KünstlerInnen in New York City. Sie ist Autorin und Dichterin, hat zehn Gedichtbände veröffentlicht und ihre Gedichte im Austausch mit Musikern auch performt. Jayne Cortéz trat mit ihren einzigartigen Performances an unterschiedlichen Orten auf wie zum Beispiel: Museum of Modern Art, New York; UNESCO, Paris; The Berlin Jazz Festival; 11 Perfil da Literatura, Sao Paulo, Brasilien; The Arts Alive International Festival, Johannesburg, Südafrika; Banlieus Bleues Festival, Frankreich. Ihre poetischen Texte sind politisch-surrealistischer Ausdruck von Widerstand, Lebensrealitäten, Traumwelten - und bilden als solche immer auch eine spezifische Klangwelt. Jayne Cortéz verwendet Musik und Poesie als Kommunikations- bzw. Protestform und zeigt damit ihre Verbundenheit mit der afroamerikanischen Kulturgeschichte. Ihr künstlerisches Schaffen ist eng verknüpft mit dem Black Arts Movement. So entwickelt Jayne Cortéz eine eigene Ästhetik: ihre Texte sind Ausdruck des Kampfes, sich - auch und vor allem als Schwarze Frau - einen eigenen Platz in der Gesellschaft, in der Welt, in der Kunstszene zu schaffen.
Neben ihren Gedichten, die in zahlreiche Sprachen übersetzt und in diversen Anthologien, Zeitungen und Magazinen veröffentlicht wurden, war Jayne Cortéz auch als Regisseurin tätig. Yari Yari: Black Women Writers and the Future ist eine beeindruckende Dokumentation der 1997 erstmals stattfindenden internationalen Konferenz Schwarzer Autorinnen.

Link Offizielle Website von Jayne Cortéz
Link www.blackatlantic.com