deutsche Version
Home/Programme/Todays programme/Details
Africa, America, Europe
reading
Black Atlantic
Female Narrators of the Black Atlantic
Jackie Kay and Marie-Hélène Laforest
Admission: 5 , concessions 2,50
26.09.2004
17:00
WWW
Black Atlantic
Reading and Diskussion with Jackie Kay (Great Britain) and Marie-Hélène Laforest (Haiti/Italy)
Host: Ekpenyong Ani (Germany)

Languages: English-German

"There is only one point on which my relatives and I agree: we weren’t 'black' until we left the Caribbean."
Marie-Hélène Laforest

Emigration and its traumatic effects, text-and-sound landscapes and gender questions: In her texts, British author Jackie Kay asks questions about both gender-specific and social affiliation. (Jackie Kay caused attention in Germany with her novel Trumpet, which deals with a woman jazz musician and her life as a man.) George Lamming, the doyen of Caribbean literature, writes about Marie-Hélène Laforest and her very personal insights into Haitian-Caribbean and (US) American life: 'As a Haitian author who writes in English she succeeds in creating new literary forms with this old language'.


Marie-Héléne Laforest, author and essayist, currently teaches post-colonial literature at the University of Naples, Italy. In both her fiction and non-fiction works, she has concerned herself with aspects of the Caribbean and African Diaspora; her short stories have appeared in many US periodicals and anthologies. "Foreign Shores", her first collection of short stories, was published in 2003.

Ekpenyong Ani is a journalist and editor and a certified translator for English, Portuguese and Dutch. Since 2001, she has been executive director of the Orlanda Frauenverlag press in Berlin; she is also an executive member of ADEFRA e.V. (Black women in Germany). Her writings have appeared in "The African Courier", the "Das Coming Out Lesebuch" (Ed. Konopik/Montag 1999) and "AufBrüche. Kulturelle Produktionen von Migrantinnen, Schwarzen und jüdischen Frauen in Germany" (Ed. Gelbin/Konuk/Piesche 2000).

Link www.blackatlantic.com
Link Portrait of the artist at culturebase.net
Jackie Kay
Link www.culturebase.net/artist.php?3293
Jackie Kay

english version
Home/Programm/Tagesprogramm/Details
Afrika, Amerika, Europa
Lesung
Black Atlantic
Erzählerinnen des Black Atlantic
Jackie Kay und Marie-Hélène Laforest
Eintritt: 5 , ermäßigt 2,50
26.09.2004
17:00
WWW
Black Atlantic
Lesung und Diskussion mit Jackie Kay (Großbritannien) und Marie-Hélène Laforest (Haiti/Italien)
Moderation: Ekpenyong Ani (Lektorin, Berlin)

Sprachen: Englisch/Deutsch

"Nur in einem Punkt stimmen meine Verwandten und ich überein: wir waren nicht 'schwarz', bis wir die Karibik verließen." Marie-Hélène Laforest

Aus-Wanderungen und ihre traumatischen Folgen, Text-Klang-Landschaften und Gender-Fragen: Die britische Autorin Jackie Kay, die mit "Die Trompeterin" - einem Roman über eine Jazzmusikerin und ihr Leben als Mann - auch in Deutschland für Aufsehen sorgte, fragt in ihren Texten nach geschlechtsspezifischer und gesellschaftlicher Zugehörigkeit. Der Doyen der karibischen Literatur, Georg Lamming schreibt über Marie-Hélène Laforest und ihre sehr persönlichen Einblicke in haitianisch-karibisches und US-amerikanisches Leben: "Als haitianischer Autorin, die auf Englisch schreibt, gelingt es ihr, mit dieser alten Sprache neue literarische Formen zu schaffen."


Marie-Héléne Laforest lebt derzeit als Autorin, Essayistin und Associate Professor für Postkoloniale Literaturen an der Universität von Neapel in Italien. In ihren Arbeiten befasst sie sich mit der Karibischen und Afrikanischen Diaspora. Ihre literarischen Werke wurden in vielen US-amerikanischen Zeitschriften und Anthologien veröffentlicht. 2003 erschien ihr erster Erzählband, Foreign Shores.

Ekpenyong Ani ist Lektorin und Diplom-Übersetzerin für Englisch, Portugiesisch und Niederländisch. Seit 2001 ist sie Geschäftsführerin des Orlanda Frauenverlags in Berlin. Sie ist im Vorstand von ADEFRA e.V. (Schwarze Frauen in Deutschland). Veröffentlichungen in der Zeitschrift "The African Courier" sowie in "Das Coming Out Lesebuch" (Hg. Konopik/Montag 1999) und "AufBrüche. Kulturelle Produktionen von Migrantinnen, Schwarzen und jüdischen Frauen in Deutschland" (Hg. Gelbin/Konuk/Piesche 2000).

Link www.blackatlantic.com
Link www.culturebase.net/artist.php?3292
Jackie Kay
Link Künstlerportrait von culturebase.net
Jackie Kay