deutsche Version
Home/Programme/Todays programme/Details
Asia
Iran
reading
Far Near Distance
Blue Logos (Aql-e abi)
Shahrnush Parsipur
Admission: 4 , concessions 2,50
concessions for visitors of the exhibition
02.05.2004
18:00
perception, taboo, transformation
WWW
Entfernte Nähe
It is the mid-eighties. A women enters a police station. Underneath her chador she is wearing a tight red dress with a slit up the side. The police officer, who is listening to Beethoven's Fifth Symphony as she enters, takes her for a prostitute. She begins to tell him her family's story, which she continues to narrate over the following five nights. Gradually, she metamorphoses from a normal women into a magic being - a fairy or a witch. In the process, the policeman is also transformed, and together they become part of the story.

The relationship between the man and the woman mainly takes place inside the minds of the two characters. As in other works by Shahrnush Pasipur, the present novel deals with gender roles, which the author treats with a certain irony. However, at the centre of the story stands the woman with her ability to move through the past and the present.
In the passage chosen for the reading, she recounts how she plans and carries out an attack on a man called "You would be me".

The Islamic Revolution in Iran and the Iraq-Iranian war provide the backdrop to the novel. It switches between social allusions and philosophical-mystical reflections. Alongside allusions to Persian and Western literature and philosophy, the book also contains grotesque and surrealistic elements: as with the gorilla, who appears throughout the book as the policeman's alter ego, or when Kafka and Beethoven arrive on the scene.

Shahrnush Parsipur's fourth novel "Aql-e abi" (Blue Logos) was due for publication in the early 1990s when the author was suddenly arrested again. Printing was postponed indefinitely, or rather prohibited. The novel was published in Persian in the USA in 1994, and subsequently by an exile Iranian publisher in Sweden.

BIOGRAPHY:
Sharnush Parsipur was born into a bourgeois family in 1946. Parallel to studying sociology, she was already working as an editor for the state television company in Iran when she quit the job as a protest against the execution of two artists in 1974. Only a short time afterwards, she was arrested for publicly criticising the Shah regime and imprisoned for one year. After a long stay in France, she was arrested again and spent the best part of the next five years in prison, although no reasons were stated for her detention. As there was no end to the repressive measures and her situation remained bleak, she decided, in 1994, to publish her works and to emigrate to the USA, where she now lives and works. Parsipur started writing when she was a teenager. In 1973, she wrote her first novel, The Dog and the Long Winter, and at the end of the 1970s she completed two works with an erotic air: Women without Men and The Simple and Small Adventures of the Spirit of the Tree, followed shortly afterwards by Tuba. All these works established Parsipur’s reputation as a post-modernist feminist author of international stature.

BIBLIOGRAPHY (Choice):
Bar Bale Bad Neshastan (On the Wings of Wind), novel, 2002
Shiva, novel, 1999
Majerahaye Sadeh va Kuchake Ruhe Derakht (The Small and Simple Adventures of the Spirit of the Tree), novel, 1999
Zanan-e bedun-e mardan (Women without Men), novel, 1990
Tuba va ma’na-ye shab (Tuba), novel, 1989
Sag va zemestan-e boland (The Dog and the Long Winter), novel, 1976

Link article Neue Züricher Zeitung

english version
Home/Programm/Tagesprogramm/Details
Asien
Iran
Lesung
Entfernte Nähe
Blaue Vernunft (Aql-e abi)
Shahrnush Parsipur
Eintritt: 4 , ermäßigt 2,50
Ermäßigung für Ausstellungsbesucher
02.05.2004
18:00
Tabu, Transformation, Wahrnehmung
WWW
Entfernte Nähe
Mitte der achtziger Jahre betritt eine Frau eine Polizeistation. Unter ihrem Tschador trägt sie ein eng anliegendes, seitlich geschlitztes rotes Kleid. Der Offizier, der gerade Beethovens Symphonie lauscht, glaubt, es handele sich um eine Prostituierte. Sie beginnt, ihm die Geschichte ihrer Familie zu erzählen und tut dies während der folgenden fünf Nächte. Nach und nach verändert sie sich von einer normalen Frau zu einem Zauberwesen, einer Fee oder einer Hexe. Doch auch der Polizist verändert sich und gemeinsam tauchen sie in die Geschichte ein.

Die Beziehung zwischen dem Mann und der Frau spielt sich hauptsächlich in den Köpfen der beiden ab. Wie in anderen Werken Shahrnush Parsipurs auch geht es um Geschlechterrollen, die die Autorin mit Ironie verhandelt. Im Zentrum des Buches steht jedoch die Frau mit ihrer Fähigkeit, sich durch Vergangenheit und Zukunft zu bewegen.

Der Roman spielt vor dem Hintergrund der Islamischen Revolution in Iran und dem iranisch-irakischen Krieg. Er changiert zwischen gesellschaftlichen Bezügen und philosophisch-mystischen Reflexionen. Anspielungen auf persische und westliche Literatur und Philosophie sind ebenso enthalten wie groteske und surreale Elemente, etwa wenn durch den Roman hindurch ein Gorilla als Alter Ego des Polizeioffiziers präsent bleibt oder wenn Kafka und Beethoven auftauchen.

Anfang der 1990er Jahre sollte Shahrnush Parsipurs vierter Roman "Agl-e abi" (Blaue Vernunft) veröffentlicht werden, als die Autorin erneut verhaftet wurde. Die Drucklegung im Iran wurde auf unbestimmte Zeit verschoben, bzw. verboten. Das Buch erschien 1994 in den USA auf Persisch und später in einem iranischen Exilverlag in Schweden.

BIOGRAFIE:
Shahrnush Parsipur wird 1946 in eine bürgerliche Familie geboren. Sie arbeitete bereits während ihres Soziologiestudiums als Redakteurin für das staatliche iranische Fernsehen, bevor sie 1974 aus Protest gegen die Hinrichtung zweier Künstler ihren Posten niederlegt. Kurz darauf wird sie wegen ihrer öffentlichen Kritik am Schah-Regime verhaftet und für ein Jahr inhaftiert. Nach einem längeren Frankreichaufenthalt wird sie 1981 erneut verhaftet und bleibt ohne Angabe von Gründen für fast fünf Jahre im Gefängnis. 1994 entschließt sie sich angesichts jahrelanger Repressalien und der Aussichtslosigkeit, ihre Werke zu veröffentlichen, in die USA zu gehen, wo sie noch heute lebt und arbeitet. Parsipur beginnt bereits als Teenager zu schreiben, 1973 entsteht ihr erster Roman „The Dog and the Long Winter“, Ende der 70er Jahre die beiden erotisch gefärbten Werke „Women without Men“ und „The Simple and Small Adventure of the Spirit of the Tree“ und kurz darauf das auch auf Deutsch erschienene Werk „Tuba“ – alles Veröffentlichungen, die das Fundament von Sharnush Parsipurs Ruf als postmoderner, feministischer Autorin von Weltrang begründen.


BIBLIOGRAFIE (Auszug):
Bar Bale Bad Neshastan (Auf den Flügeln des Windes), Roman, 2002
Shiva, Roman, 1999
Majerahaye Sadeh va Kuchake Ruhe Derakht (Die kleinen, schlichten Abenteuer des Baumgeistes), Roman, 1999
Zanan-e bedun-e mardan (Frauen ohne Männer), Roman, 1990
Tuba va ma’na-ye shab (Tuba), Roman, 1989
Sag va zemestan-e boland (Der Hund und der lange Winter) Roman 1976

Link Artikel Neue Zuericher Zeitung